It’s No “Dark Matter.”

t’s not surprising that I’m one of the lifelong “faithfull” Pearl Jam fans. You’d expect me to do cartwheels and sing accolades about them, no matter what. And I do. And I would, if I could do a cartwheel. But I’m a little gracefully challenged where that’s concerned, so I’ll sing accolades in the best way I know how: by writing about my passion.

When the title track, a rare move for the band, came out I was neither miffed nor wowed. At first. Then, they released, “Running” whereby we (and I mean the Pearl Jam community to which I belong, and of whom there are actually dicks who reside here—hey, just because someone loves something doesn’t mean they don’t suck at life!)

Where was I? Oh, yes, the Jamily all found humor in the fact that it sounded like Eddie was yelling, “Potato!” So, that’s now a thing amongst us. He’s never been known for his articulate diction, though his usually amazing lyrics wow us once we know what they are…

Did I finish a sentence yet? Sorry, I’m a little distracted tonight, as I’m facing divorce and I’m unemployed and my car is old and needs work…and with three degrees, I just applied to work at a local gas station…so forgive me if I’m a little wayward. I appreciate your readership more than you know, especially about things I care passionately about.

“Running” broke out, and I almost bristled. It was loud. And hard but seemed to lack the depth that most Pearl Jam fans were accustomed to. S’okay, Eddie, we can yell “Potato!” and get over it. I felt something I’d only felt once before with a brand-new Pearl Jam album: skepticism.

The time before, it was “Backspacer.” The first listen through, I had this terrible feeling I wasn’t going to like the album, but by the last track, “The End,” my finger was already poised over the repeat button, and I immediately saw it for the gem it was.

“Dark Matter” has been a totally different experience. “Dark Matter” has been a bit like drinking a really good whiskey. It hits you hard, makes your eyes water, but then it warms you and causes you feelings of delight and joy. I’m not really a drinker, but I think the metaphor works here. Let me know. This album has been like a cresting wave for me, and for a lot of the Jamily.

It’s completely unlike what they’ve ever done. There has been great criticism amongst fans about this. I’ve navigated away from the negative reviews from supposed fans with tears in my eyes, or a scowl on multiple occasions. And then, I felt something in the pit of my stomach. My God, what if they’re right? What if they’ve lost their umph? Or their dark edge? Or their authenticity?

Then, I went to the Pearl Jam listening party in Allentown, PA. Once I heard it twice, I couldn’t wait to get the album four days later. I knew I was going to spin it multiple times. I knew I was going to drown this skepticism that was leaking all over the Internet, and all over the Jamily. I still had hope. And I had heard the backup vocals in “Wreckage,” ones that caused goosebumps in my soul.

Along comes Friday, and it’s on repeat. I saw a positive post from a fan that claimed it was solid and one of the best things the band had ever done. I remember thinking that was generous. But eight days later, I see why he said that. It’s absolutely bloody Brilliant. Yes, with the capital B and not just because I’m a poet, and I liked that Emily Dickinson did that when words needed emphasis in a time before computer and boldface.

Here I sit, not much more than a week later, listening to “Setting Sun,” and I can assure you it’s worth 45 minutes of your time. This track, in particular, I think, could become a new show closer—after years of “Yellow Ledbetter” only, for the most part.

So, here’s my overview:

My favorites are, in no particular order:

“Wreckage”

“Waiting for Stevie”

“Setting Sun”

“Won’t Tell”

I think that “Scared of Fear” is a definite strong opener and is aptly placed at the beginning of the album. Even though “Dark Matter” and “Running” were released ahead of time, I love them more now than when I heard them for the first few weeks ahead of the release. “Something Special” is sentimental, and a little bee-boppy, but special itself, especially for those of us who are Gen X or Xennials and parents of any type. “Don’t React, Respond” also caught some flack in the wake of the Jamily, but I disagree with this response, so I’m responding to it: it rocks. You’ve got killer vocals, and a jumping bass line, with McCready tearin’ it up. Is there something more you wanted? I think people are just sometimes, sadly, ungrateful. I’m not a huge fan of “Upper Hand” yet, but I’m also not making any huge convictions about my initial skepticisms. Pearl Jam has never let me down, and never will. I can be quoted with, “Even if they turned to Polka, I’d follow them.” Other notables: you can really hear their influences shine through in this album: myself, and other fans have cited The Cure, Led Zeppelin, and Pink Floyd.

If I had to give it a grade, I’d say A-. It’s the type of album you can listen to time and again, and still enjoy. Not just enjoy but enjoy more and more with each listen. I put a post out on the Pearl Jam group and mentioned that it seems like a divorce album to me. Some agreed, some were rude (some dude actually said, “I’m sure your soon-to-be ex is glad about it.” Ouch, dude. Really?) I stand by my claim that it’s definitely a retrospective album about relationships of all kinds. And yet, it’s still beautifully heavy as Pearl Jam delivers once again.

I’m fortunate to have tickets to see them this year, and I can’t wait. If you want to discuss the album further, or other musical musings of mine, feel free to hit me up.

Be well and rock on,

Rachael

Leave a comment