“I don’t care if I’m late; I’m going to listen to this whole song!”

I wasn’t running late for work that day, earlier this week. I was on time. But there are certain songs that require a full listen, especially when they are granted to you via a random radio play. I heard the beginning of “You Get What You Give” by the New Radicals. (You know, the “you’ve got the music in you” song.) If there ever was an anthem for me, the chorus of this song would be it. Immediately upon hearing the first notes, I exclaimed, to no one, unless you count the bobble-head giraffe or pink flamingo beanie baby that reside in my car, “I don’t care if I’m late for work; I’m going to listen to this whole song!!!”

I’m a firm believer in letting a song have it’s full running time, and often, like poetry, giving it appropriate silences to resonate. I’m the same way with movies. Once I’m in the zone, please leave me there! Maybe I’m just not a fan of interruptions.

One of my greatest pet peeves is when the DJ interrupts the song, either beginning or end. For example, no one EVER lets Eddie finish the spoken/mumbled “I’m dead” part at the end of “Even Flow.” Every DJ I’ve ever listened to has cut the final, haunting drum taps from Third Eye Blind’s “Jumper” Often, the Counting Crows’ “Long December” gets gypped from the “yeahs” at the end that a friends’ mom once said sounded like cats meowing softly. Even so.

Is there a song that you feel gets shorted on the radio? Do share.

Be well and rock on,

Rachael

Leave a Reply

