Birthdays

You could celebrate a birthday with a multitude of songs. I particularly like

because of Mom. Each year, Mom will call me up and go, “You say it’s your birthday! Bahn nah nah nah nah nah nah nunt. Happy birthday to ya! Bahn nah nah nah nah nah nah nunt.”

In this tech age, I’ve taken to posting that video on my friends’ Facebook pages on their special day. Birthdays should be celebrated. They should be special. People gripe and groan about aging when they should be celebrating the days they do have. I have even heard my peers bemoan 30. 30. Really? If you stop to think about it, that’s a good age. You’re beyond all that unsettled strife of adolescence and maybe college and job searching. You’re more grounded perhaps. You might even have been lucky enough to meet that excellent someone and have beautiful babies already. Or you might be reveling in your detachment and independence (I am neither.) Nevertheless, I’m glad to be in this moment.

That’s what birthdays should do. Stop the clock and focus on blessings. One of my blessings turns 30 today, on St. Patrick’s Day. My best friend, Lindsey, shares a birthday with Billy Corgan of the Smashing Pumpkins. Happy birthday to both of you.

It would be pretty amazing if, one day, Lindsey could meet Billy. I always imagined that I’d become acquaintances with him through the music world and surprise her with a dinner where she could meet him. I was fortunate enough to meet him in 2003. It was bittersweet, though, because I didn’t get to share the experience with Lindsey. We’d shared a love of the Smashing Pumpkins for almost ten years at that point.

As you celebrate St. Patrick’s Day–my hope is that you will be safe and make wise decisions–celebrate your blessings. Luck does exist, but blessings are by far sweeter avenues for joy.

Be well and rock on,

Rachael

Leave a Reply

