I’m down about it, too, Evan Dando…

Y’ever have one of those weeks where you want to cry and throw things and escape the hum-drum life filled with financial worries (I did just complete my MFA, after all…yikes), a living room filled with the aftermath of your stressed out explosion (poetry books, to-do lists, the immobile Electrolux)?

There’s a cure for that chaos and its name is: The Lemonheads. I know that I have written a blog about the Lemonheads before, however, it cannot be repeated enough how excellent they are.

I love the album It’s a Shame About Ray, but Come On, Feel the Lemonheads is an album that will dance out of your sorrows. I traded a bad hair day for headphones this morning and was grateful for the renewed bond I felt with Evan Dando and Juliana Hatfield.

“Into Your Arms” is probably about their relationship–after all, underneath the title track it proclaims “Written for Juliana Hatfield.” Dando sings, “I know a place where I can go, when I’m alone…into your arm, oo-whoa-ooo, into your arms, I can go.”

Well, it appears that my new hobby is being wretchedly single but a song like this transcends earthly love and devotion. My rock has always been music, and this morning as I drew blue eyeliner crescents underneath my eyes, I dedicated this song to music.

The greatest love affair of my life thus far has been with music. There is no more forgiving, welcoming, healing partner in the world than that. I’ve always been self-conscious of singing aloud while I have headphones on but today I let it fly, pretending that I could be Juliana Hatfield, collaborating with a talented male musician on an album fans will appreciate almost 20 years later.

I want to be to someone what Juliana Hatfield’s voice is to Evan Dando’s. Better still, I want to meet someone that gets as excited about music as I do. In every day, in every conversation, music is present, for me. The timbre of a voice, the piped-in radio at Rite-Aid, the few words that will have me singing a song, much like my mom does, in the middle of a conversation…

I was thinking about a recent rejection of my work (it seems that as much as I love to write, the right people haven’t tuned into me yet) and dove to the CD rack to hear “The Great Big No.” Somehow, I knew hearing the wit and honey of Dando’s voice and Juliana’s harmonies would set my path straight again.

“Patience is like bread I say, I ran of out that yesterday.” But I’ve still got sunshine. It’s about time.

Be well, have a great day, and come on, feel the Lemonheads why don’t you?

Rachael

http://youtu.be/Wz2qNwDiXRo

Leave a Reply

