I’m not being Modest…

There are certain songs you can hear time and again and they never get old. One of these songs, for me, is Modest Mouse’s “Float On.” My college roommate and I had a rule, and a dance, too, that if we played it once, we had to do a replay, even if we were going to be late for class. It was a time when, broke and struggling, we both paused a moment to embrace life.

Their whole album, Good News For People Who Love Bad News is rather genius, both lyrically and instrumentally.

Tracks you must listen to:

2) The World at Large
3) Float On
10) The View
13) Blame it on the Tetons
15) One Chance

The “World at Large” has a very simple bass drum beat xx xxxx repeated all over again. It is a beat you will subconsciously tap on your steering wheel as you’re sailing down the interstate.

Some key lyrics from the album:

I like songs about drifters – books about the same.
They both seem to make me feel a little less insane.
Walked on off to another spot.
I still haven’t gotten anywhere that I want.
Did I want love? Did I need to know?
Why does it always feel like I’m caught in an undertow?
***
I know that starting over is not what life’s about.
But my thoughts were so loud I couldn’t hear my mouth.
(The World at Large)

***

Everyone’s a building burning
with no one to put the fire out.
Standing at the window looking out,
waiting for time to burn us down.
Everyone’s an ocean drowning
with no one really to show how.
They might get a little better air
if they turned themselves into a cloud.

(Blame it on the Tetons)

Just about everyone has heard “Float On.” But “The World at Large” has quickly become one of my most favorites. I like when he sings, “But you’ve still got your words and you’ve got your friends.”

Thankfully, we have more than one chance, more often than not, but even so, this is brilliant poetry:

We have one chance, one chance to get everything right.
My friends, my habits, my family, they mean so much to me.
I just don’t think that it’s right.
I’ve seen so many ships sail in,
just to head back out again and go off sinkin’.

(One Chance)

Perhaps this has been scattered. I apologize. I’ll close with this:

Wishing you wonderful holidays. Be well and rock on.

Rachael

Leave a Reply

