My cats are named after a Butthole Surfers song…no, really…

So, Mom is the chi of cool, and often can burst out into song and dance in the middle of the grocery store. She happens to always get the most inappropriate lyrics stuck in her head, and those happen to be the only ones she remembers sometimes. There are a few songs where this is true, one of which is the Butthole Surfers’ “Pepper.” You know, the “I don’t mind the sun sometimes” song. (It’s below, of course.) The one line she always remembers is “they were all in love with Diane / they were doin’ it in Texas…” and, occasionally, “flowin’ like an avalanche, comin’ down the mountain.”

A few things: First, the name of the band is, well, wow.

So this year, I got two kitties, one of which Mom named. She decided she should be called Cinnamon because there is a blotch on her head, right in the center between her ears, that is the exact color of the spice. We both decided, however, that it was also because Mom’s go-to song was “Pepper.” For those of you just tuning in, he sings: “Cinnamon and Sugary and softly spoken lies…you never know just how you look through other people’s eyes.”

Before I ever got the second cat, Sugar was her destined name. She lives up to it, being six pounds of spunk and sweetness and insanity. But now when I hear the song I think fondly of Mom and the cats. It’s rare that this song should cause a sing-a-long, but it did.

I was visiting my good childhood friend, Dayton, last summer for my high school reunion. I have no idea how it came up, but right there at his dinner table with is family and fiancee, we both sang a rather beautiful and harmonic rendition of the chorus. There was a moment of silence afterwards, that moment when the whole room witnessed ten years of distance close together like theatre curtains. The swish of it gave me pause.

And all I have to say about that is, “I don’t mind the (song) sometimes, the images it shows…” They say scent is the strongest memory trigger; I’ll concur, but only if song is the next strongest.

Enjoy:

Leave a Reply

