Two words: Electric banjo

…or hell, yes. Hell yes, Mumford & Sons.

Sometimes I revel in my “classic” alternative. You know, it’s 20 years old. I saw flannel shirts at Boscov’s the other day and they called them “vintage flannel.” I laughed, right out loud. It did not sound like LOL, mind you. It was more like, “AHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Really?! Flannel is now vintage?!”

Vintage wine. Vintage vinyl from 1960s. But vintage flannel? Oh, boy! Anyway, back to the electric banjo already…there I go, reveling again…

Sometimes, stuck in my 90s rock world, I tune out to contemporary rock but when my ear piques on something as fantabulous as Mumford & Sons’ “Sigh No More” I simply have to share in contemporary rock joy.

The strength of the vocalist’s voice, the unique aspect of an electric banjo, the solemn harmonies of the songs, the upbeat, almost victorious banjo lilts…it’s all quite amazing. You can listen at home, while contemplating over chai tea. You can air banjo in the car at the stoplight, you can even vacuum and houseclean to this album.

In either case, go to your LOCAL record store and pick this album up. The only sigh you’ll get from Sigh No More is one of content, I assure you.

Should you follow my advice, or if you already have this gem, please let me know what you think of it!

Here’s a sampling:

Be well and rock on,

Rachael

One thought on “Two words: Electric banjo

  1. Adam says:

    I can’t agree more. Absolutely beautiful album. I’ve listened over and over and over and over for the past year +

Leave a Reply

