Songs that will be played at my wedding, edition one (yes, I’m still hopeful.)

Walking in the park this beautiful spring day, I heard Pearl Jam’s “Wishlist” and I thought, “I have to play this song at my wedding.” For a while now, I’ve mentally compiled songs I have to have played if I am fortunate enough to find my soul mate and get married…this is only a beginning:

Fisher “I Will Love You.” (I might just sing this one.)
Elton John “Your Song.” (He should sing this to me.)
Counting Crows’ “Accidentally in Love.”
Led Zeppelin “Celebration Day.”
Pearl Jam, “Just Breathe.” “You.” “Wishlist.” “You Are.”
Tom Petty “Here Comes My Girl.”
Eric Clapton “Wonderful Tonight.”
Tonic “Lemon Parade.”
The Cure “Just Like Heaven.”
New Order “Regret.” (But for no intrinsic meaning, of course, just because that song feels so good.)
Jimi Hendrix “May This Be Love.”
The Lemonheads’ “It’s About Time.”
The Cranberries’ “Stars” “You & Me” “This is the Day”
The Beatles, “I’ll Follow the Sun” “Here Comes the Sun” “All My Life”
Donovan “Jennifer Juniper.”
I’m sure I’ll play a lot of Toad the Wet Sprocket and/or Glen Phillips
Jason Mraz’ “I’m Yours” especially if Abbey still likes it. ๐Ÿ™‚
U2 “The Sweetest Thing.”
Natalie Merchant “Kind & Generous.”

Here are the lyrics:

I wish I was a neutron bomb, for once I could go off
I wish I was a sacrifice but somehow still lived on
I wish I was a sentimental ornament you hung on
The Christmas tree, I wish I was the star that went on top (FAVORITE LINE!)
I wish I was the evidence, I wish I was the grounds
For 50 million hands upraised and open toward the sky

I wish I was a sailor with someone who waited for me
I wish I was as fortunate, as fortunate as me
I wish I was a messenger and all the news was good
I wish I was the full moon shining off a Camaro’s hood

I wish I was an alien at home behind the sun
I wish I was the souvenir you kept your house key on
I wish I was the pedal brake that you depended on
I wish I was the verb ‘to trust’ and never let you down

I wish I was a radio song, the one that you turned up
I wish…
I wish…

More lyrics: http://www.lyricsfreak.com/p/pearl+jam/#share

I wish he’d be all those things and more…

…and I know there will be more to come…

Meanwhile, what are yours? Please post!

One thought on “Songs that will be played at my wedding, edition one (yes, I’m still hopeful.)

  1. “Wonderful Tonight” was my wedding song ๐Ÿ™‚ Love your choices!

Leave a Reply

