When you wish upon a star and it turns into a plane…

Is it okay to write another blog inspired by the Replacements? Great! Thank you. For starters, listen to this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQoZW3jv7hA

Plenty of times I wake up “in February makeup”, and wonder if Paul Westerberg knows all there is to know about love and heartache. I’d certainly prefer his brand of enthusiasm to Hallmark’s gushing “I love us” campaign.

Some poignant lyrics from this song are:
“If you were a pill
I’d take a handful at my will
And I’d knock you back with something sweet and strong
Plenty of times you wake up in February make-up
Like the moon and the morning star you’re gone.”

The subject line of this post is also the opening line. Seems like some people wish on the stars for the love of their lives and I’m always wishing on planets, so that must be better than planes, right? Oh, Valentine’s Day, you Hallmark holiday created only to estrange the single and bankrupt the smitten. But I’m not really (that) jaded. 🙂 I do, however, believe Valentine’s Day should be a day to celebrate EVERYONE you love and love in general. Isn’t it a wonderful enterprise?

When I think of love (outside of romantic love), I immediately think of my family and friends (often the latter is not different than the former.) Recently, I found an old radio rant of mine. I covered a Valentine’s Day show for my roommate so she could go out with her new boyfriend. I was, at the time, single for waaaaay longer than I’ll admit here, and rambled on air about how this should be a day to celebrate love in general. Anyone who is single and a bit jaded by this Hallmark holiday will subscribe to this philosophy.

Who am I kidding? The origin of St. Valentine’s Day is grounded in ideas of romantic love. Read more on the history here: http://www.history.com/topics/valentines-day

Whatever your station in life, enjoy the day, celebrate those whom you love, and be kind to one another. I’ll be looking to the sky for my plane, Paul.

And, before I sign off, you should also check out this great song, brought to you by the wonderful Bouncing Souls:

Be well and rock on,

Rachael

Leave a Reply

