Let it play…

Random observation of the week:

There is never a shortage of Kansas LPs at the record store.

Stepping back into 1990
This week, my bathroom has featured the music of Poison in the form of “Flesh and Blood.” I went through a phase where I was ashamed to like hair band rock, but I’m ashamed no longer. Gems from this album are: the bass line in “Unskinny Bop” and the driving riffs in “Valley of Lost Souls.” However, my particular favorite is “Let it Play.” When I was a young girl, I longed for a wake timer CD player function so I could wake up to that song. I was certain it would drive me out of bed. When I finally got my wake-timer function, I woke to Cece Deville’s electric incantations. It’s a better song to hear while you’re in the bathroom preparing for the day…

You can even use your toothbrush as a microphone if you promise not to get toothpaste spittle on the freshly Windex’d mirror.

Let it Play

Did you ever get up on the wrong side of bed
With an achin’ head and just fall apart?
You’re running late, the boss is bitchin’,
It’s cold outside, and the car won’t start

Well I don’t mean to bitch I swear
Cause we all got our cross to bear

Chorus:
But when I hear the music
All my troubles just fade away
When I hear the music
Let it play, let it play
When I hear the music
Sure as darkness I can see the day
When I hear the music
Let it play
Let it play

Life’s just rented space getting laid to waste
When the lines on my face say I’m growing older
Just a stitch in time gonna save my mind
When the weight of the world lies on my shoulders

Soon I won’t have a place to fit
But I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it

Go ahead and try it some morning and let me know if you don’t have a day where you hum to yourself throughout the day. I will warn you, though, even though we all might ponder what the hell “un-skinny bop” actually refers to, the song will parade around in your decaffeinated mind for the better part of the morning.

Suggestions for other great wake-up tunes? Leave ’em here. I’d love to hear ’em.

2 thoughts on “Let it play…

  1. Stephanie says:

    I would like to say Nothing to Lose by Kiss. It’s Peter and his vocals rock. It raw and a little on the gritty side.

  2. Thank you for sharing, Stephanie!

Leave a Reply

