Just Like the Cure (for everything.)

I heard Dishwalla’s “Counting Blue Cars” while doing dishes last night.  Every so often, you will hear a song from a long time ago that they played time and again when it first hit the airwaves.  But songs like this one, when heard a decade and a half later, well, they’re just brilliant, brilliant still.  Even more so, if I might conjecture.  Speaking of great songs, when I went to the gym I heard my FAVORITE Cure (or Cure, The or The Cure) song.  “Just Like Heaven.”  When I hear that song I feel like the bouncy ball on the sing-along shows from long ago.  It’s just the way it moves.  I want to do silly dances with theatric arm motions, calling out to strangers on the street (or, as it were, the treadmill) in his voice.  His accusing, “Yooooooou, just like heaven.”  And then there’s the tinkling guitar refrain which, incidentally, is just like heaven.  It is also a great song to work out to.  In fact, The Cure’s Greatest Hits is a really good selection if you’re looking to get some exercise.  The energy carries throughout, even through the slow songs. 

 

I stand accused of dancing my hand out the window, sailing down the interstate with “Friday, I’m in Love” a bit too loud in my car.  But “Just Like Heaven” is so great it’s hard to tell you.  Imagine that I’m sitting across from you and telling you this.  My eyes are lit up, and I’ll tug at your elbow and attention, urging you until you almost have to agree because I’m so passionate about the greatness of this song.  It doesn’t have to be said that The Cure was incredible.  It doesn’t hurt to talk about it, though. 

 

Be well and rock on,

 

Rachael

 

P.S.  You didn’t think I’d blabber on without giving you the link, did you?

 

 http://youtu.be/RS_ux2H473I

 

4 thoughts on “Just Like the Cure (for everything.)

  1. Jenny Hill says:

    The Cure transport me to the summer of 1988. I’m in the car with my friend Heather, the windows are rolled down, the “Head on the Door” wails from cassette. I felt like I knew everything then. The world was possibility.

    • Ah, there’s just something about them that conveys that feeling, no matter what time frame you hear them. The track, “Close to Me” would be a really good song to put a hoop routine to I think. It has a lot of fun horn parts and bouncing rhythms.

  2. It is just scary how similar we are! While writing my Capstone, I went nuts at CD stores looking for Dishwalla’s Counting Blue Cars, not only because it’s a great song, but it was a huge part of my teen years. How long was it popular? I just remember it was always on the radio =)

Leave a Reply

